Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jennyrios3

Help!! Scale, I think?

jennyrios3
11 years ago

Hi everyone,

I am new to GardenWeb and new to gardening. I have tried in the past and gotten tired of spending money on plants and having them die, but this year I've decided to try again and educate myself a little more, and thus .. my coming to this forum :-) There seems to be so much knowledge here, and I thank any of you who respond to this in advance for your help.

I have multiple problems but I'll start with the holly in my front yard since it seems you can only upload one photo to each post (is that correct?) This holly is in a bed in front of my house that faces north. It came with the house so it's established (we've been here 7 years) but a section of it has recently started dying. I noticed the leaves and branches are covered with white spots a little smaller than 1/8 inch in diameter. If I squeeze them, they burst with a reddish/brownish liquid inside. Is this scale? I've tried researching scale and found references to neem oil? Is that the best solution? Can I still use it given it's about to really start warming up here? I am in Houston, TX, zone 9. Thank you so much for any advice!

Comments (6)

• jean001a
    11 years ago

Yes, you're correct. It's scale. Lots & lots of scale. Such a heavy infestation indicates the plant is stressed.

If you're truly ready to learn more about gardening, I suggest you start looking for a replacement shrub.

I know, I know. Some folks will criticize that suggestion. (Probably many folks!) But the bottom line is that you need to decide how much time & expense you want to pour into a failing plant.

Bluntly put: Sometimes it's not worth it.

Your decision.

• jennyrios3
    Original Author
    11 years ago