Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
willy_chile

Pepper Seedling Issue - What's Going On?

willy_chile
10 years ago

Folks, this cayenne pepper seedling looked healthy 36 hours ago. Just as the first true leaves began to emerge, the cotyledons started showing a fine dark to rust-brown flecking. This has now spread across both cotyledons and the stem turned from healthy green to brown. The surrounding seedlings look fine. Any idea what this might be, and what to do about it? I'm new to raising seedlings and am just getting by with Internet advice.

Comments (4)

• jean001a
    10 years ago

It's tough to know for certain what is happening. Perhaps it's a case of edema? Don't know as the image doesn't clearly show the detail.

If nothing else, the newest leaves look fine.

A wise guideline to follow:
    While raising seedlings, if one is off-color and looks obviously "sick" it's wise to remove it before others are affected -- that is, if there's any chance of the problem being contagious.
    (In this case, I'm unable to say if that's true or not.)

• willy_chile
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, Jean. I went ahead and removed that seedling just in case. I planted three in each starter pot anyway, and one of the other seeds is just sprouting in that same pot, so I'll see how it does.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

red .... which on green can look brown..

can be insufficient light...

how far are you lights from your seedlings ... 2 inches max.. [why is the plant leaning to one side... stretching for light???]

and how many lights are you running ...

lets see what the next set of leaves look like ... [they look pretty nice.. as small as they are] ..... before we worry too much ... if you are doing this in a window.. cold damage might be possible also...

your pic is out of focus.. and not well lit.. to 'see' the actual leaf surface.. so its just a bunch of guessing ...

ken