Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
livvyliv10_gw

mole windmill?

livvyliv10
17 years ago

I'm thinking about ordering a 18" mole chaser windmill/ pinwheel type thing from gardener's supply co. Supposedly it causes strong vibrations underground, which moles do not like so they look for other homes. Does anyone have any experience with this or have an opinion on whether or not these would work? This is my first year gardening, and I don't know if any of the pest controls I'm buying are smart.

Comments (6)

• jean001
    17 years ago

Traps work.

• Kimmsr
    17 years ago

These windmills, sonic vibrators, juicy fruit gum, and hundreds of other things meant to control moles so not work. Even the traps will not keep moles from your yard, although with luck you might kill some. I know people that annually kill several moles and have for years and stil lhave moles. As long as there is a food source, earthworms, the moles will be there.
    One deterent that does work is to mix 1 pint of Castor Oil in a 1 quart hose end sprayer, filling the sprayer with water after adding the Castor Oil, and spraying that over 2,500 square feet and then watering it in well. The mixes sold in stores will not be effective because they contain less than 1 pint of Castor Oil and tell you to cover much more territory and that simply is not effective.

• smikes1031
    17 years ago

I find it hard to believe that the vibrations created by a small windmill would be enough to cover any significant length of area. I have had very good luck repelling moles from my lawn with castor oil, though I would recommend first buying the product sold in the stores with the sprayer attachment, using it at about 3x the suggested rate (b/c as kimmsr said, they tell you it covers more than it should), then when it's empty, refill it as your castor oil sprayer, as the oil is very difficult to wash out of your regular hose-end sprayer. I repeat every 3-4 weeks or so to keep a constant defense.

• jthenley