Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brianshiau_gw

Basil leaves have brown lesions then wither and die

BrianShiau
11 years ago

I am growing basil in an indoor NFT system. I recently treated the plants using a product called Biota Max which is a pro-biotic containing various strains of Trichoderma and Bacillus. This is my first time using this product.

A couple weeks after treatment, my basil plants started exhibiting brown lesions on the leaves. The lesions would start at the top of the plant and work their way to lower leaves. I would remove the leaves but the lesions would appear on other leaves in the following days. This has begun to be an epidemic in my NFT system that is ultimately resulting in plant death.

Pictures of the lesions are posted in the following links. What could be causing the lesions?

Comments (6)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

maybe cause they are all growing sideways .. man those pix hurt...

are you absolutely positive you diluted the product you sprayed on properly ...

if you had no problem until you sprayed.. does that mean anything???

looks like chemical burn to me ... and as soon as you remove one.. the one below.. coming into more light.. then burns ....

one thing that comes to mind.. when trying a new product.. experiment on 'some' rather than 'all' ...

ken

• BrianShiau
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Sorry Ken, the pictures are right side up on my computer I don't know why some turned sideways when uploaded.

Biota Max is not a chemical, its contains strains of Trichoderma (a fungus) and Bacillus (a bacteria). The microbes colonize on roots so I sprayed the solution on the roots.

I do spray a neem oil solution on leaves, but I have been doing this for a long time w/o this leaf problem arising. I will stop the neem oil spray and see if the problem persists. Thanks.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago