Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amyjp_gw

Help, this root is killing everything

amyjp
16 years ago

This is my first time here and I hope you can help. 2 years ago I recieved some "clean" fill dirt and used it to make some raised beds. Everywhere I used it is now full of these tiny but indestructible roots. I have been trying to pull them out by hand, but it is just solid. I think it is also killing all my perinneals in those beds. The roots of my plants are just choked with these things. What can I do???? If I just layer mulch (like 10 inches deep) would that kill it? Dig it all out (seems impossible to get it all and my beds are about 20x10 ft. each). Please help... this will be my third year of buying new plants for the whole bed (all other beds do fine, without this fill dirt). I will try to upload an image. Thank you for your time. http://picasaweb.google.com/ameliapen/NastyRoots

Comments (12)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    16 years ago

if you think that is a dead hosta... and you are gardening under trees... why are you ruling out the trees ...

looks like maple roots..

i once backfilled .. with fresh new soil .. three feet deep around a giant maple...

by the end of the summer ... the maple had filled all the soil with new feeder roots ...

HOW CLOSE IS THE NEAREST MAPLE???

AND IF I AM WRONG.. WHAT OTHER TREES ARE IN THE AREA??

KEN

• amyjp
    Original Author
    16 years ago

That particular bunch is close to a maple... but I have it other places, not close to a tree and they have the same thing... ????? If it is the tree, then how do other people put beds around trees?? I don't have this problem around my other trees either. I am so confused. :)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    16 years ago

Amy, I agree those are tree roots. They are probably headed for easy soil, and moisture if you are irrigating that bed.