Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
White worms in Potted plants !

Posted by hemashree 8B (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 25, 10 at 18:26

Hi,

just bought 2 plants yesterday from a Sale.[that was a mistake :( realized only later]

While transferring them to the pots, found some 1/4 inch white worms and also a few black bug like thing in the root soil. What are these? Good? or Bad for the plant?
If they are going to harm the plants how to get rid of them.
Kindly suggest, as I am new to Gardening.
should I re pot them with new soil.
Please suggest a solution.
Thanks in advance.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: White worms in Potted plants !

Any chance of pictures?

o

the photos are here !
have not found any black bug later on.
i disposed off the ones which were there.
though found these.

link for the photos > http://picasaweb.google.com/109078447128567897634/ImagesWhatAreThese#

Here is a link that might be useful: http://picasaweb.google.com

o

They look like wireworms and I wouldn't call them white.

Here is a link that might be useful: Wireworm control

o

Small whiteish, orangeish, grayish, wiggly thingys in soils are the larva of one of a number of, usually not large problem, insects such as Fungus Gnats. Most often the potting soils will have the eggs the produce these larva and when the right mixture of soil moisture and temperature are found these eggs hatch and slowly pupate into the adults.
The simplest means of control of these soil borne larva is to allow the potting soil to dry out (near the surface) between waterings since the major reason the eggs hatch is because the soil is kept too wet.

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Thu, Apr 29, 10 at 23:58

To me they look like millipedes. If so, they're scavengers and commonly found in high organic soils and places. No remedy needed.

Seriously doubt they're wireworms. Wireworms are bright shiny golden yellow, and have only 3 pair of quite small legs.

o Post a Follow-Up