Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print

Well my eyes are swollen as I have been crying for a couple of hours. This was supposed to be THE year for my garden. I have been working like a dog and planting for four years. Today I come to find that more than half of my graden has been descimated by voles. I lost 8 rose bushes, six of which were supposed to finally make it up their arbor this year, all my astilbe, sedum, phlox and about 70% of my bulbs. I am not sure what else is gone. My question is this. Is there any way to salvage a plant once the voles have feasted on the roots or is the plant lost??? For example, if I hydrate the roses, soak them in a root hormone, cut them way back, can I start again with them? If I water and baby the perennials like the astilbe, is there a chance they will re-root?

Please help, I am really devastated here.

TIA

Comments (8)

• barefootinct
    18 years ago

Whitegarden, I am there with you and I feel your pain. A few seasons ago I began my spring clean up and found out that voles had feasted upon and destroyed 5 garden beds. The casualty list included viburnum and roses, as well as dozens and dozens of perennial species. The only things they avoided were my peonies, iris and daylily. They literally ate around them. Two entire beds were EMPTY! Yes, I said EMPTY!

So, that year was a bust. I went into a serious garden depression. Honestly, everyone was worried about me. I couldn't even start a veggie garden. By summer though, I gathered myself. I focused on the plants that lived, cherished them like never before and even bought a few more daylillies. I also started to container garden a little bit. I began to educate myself. Why did I have voles? What would they avoid? The next year I began anew.