Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Glassy cutworm. Now what?

Posted by newberrie 5/6 WA (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 14, 12 at 21:16

We moved into a house with an established garden (woo-hoo!) and this is my first year trying my hand at it. I was turning in some compost when I found a few of these little 3/4" white caterpillar-type things with brownish-reddish heads. After much time spent on google, I found the picture. Glassy cutworms. What do I do now? Should I treat the garden? Avoid planting anything in that particular corner of the garden? Obviously, I need to collar all of my seedlings, but will that be sufficient? I don't want to be ruined before I even get started!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Glassy cutworm. Now what?

this is my first year trying my hand at it

==>> a couple bugs do NOT make a plague ...

is there any chance you might be over reacting???

let me suggest that until you find ACTUAL DAMAGE .. on an actual plant.. that there is .. 99% of the time.. no reason to be reactionary .. or proactive ...

if it were me.. i would spend one to 2 years.. doing nothing but weeding.. observing my new garden.. ID'ing the plants.. and making decisions on what i want.. dont want.. what needs to be moved..

AND!!! what needs to go.. because it attracts to many bugs ...

so.. my answer to DO WHAT?? .. is NOTHING ... relax ... its a garden.. there are bugs in it.. dont worry about it ...

ken

o

Glassy cutworms are plant eaters, so they *don't* infest compost piles.

More likely, you found a beetle larva -- a grub -- which does and, thus, is a decomposer but *not* a plant damager.

o