Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
spaghetti squash seedlings - leaves turning pale!

Posted by burngirl 8 (My Page) on
Tue, May 6, 14 at 5:03

Hello,

This is my first attempt at growing spaghetti squash. They have been grown from seed, and are in 4 inch pots. I wonder if the leaves are turning pale yellow/white due to a nutrient deficiency? The seedlings are only about 7 weeks old so I thought the potting compost would be enough until I get them into the garden around May 12th or so. Any ideas would be much appreciated! I should mention I'm trying to garden with minimal chemical use. I was going to try out comfrey "tea" and manure as fertilisers in the veggie garden this year, as well as the base of compost we have in the beds.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: spaghetti squash seedlings - leaves turning pale!

Most likely a nutrient deficiency, which may or may not indicate a lack of that nutrient in the soil. The deficiency may be soil temperature related, especially with a soil that depends on the activity of the Soil Food Web to supply nutrients to the plants.
Nitrogen availability is very soil temperature dependent.

Here is a link that might be useful: plant nutrient deficiencies

o

if you used fresh media to start the seed.. like you.. i would also presume it wouldnt wear out inside a few weeks ...

i would lean more toward lack of sufficient light ... on a plant that big.. indoors in that size pot ... if you do it again.. start the seed a week or two later.. so you will have a smaller plant to deal with ...

is it only the lower .... oldest leaves???: ... if so.. that leads me to low light levels ... are they under lights?? .. how does the light hit the lower leaves .. and if they are in a window .... has the sun risen in the sky.. and they arent getting as much light now????