Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
melli_mel18

HELP! Ilex Cren Chesapeake shrubs looks sick!

melli_mel18
9 years ago

Hi there! I have 2 Ilex Cren Chesapeake shrubs and there not budding at all, I dont see any new growth coming in. I was told there can be a few issues with it...lace bugs, a virus and fungus. I planted these shrubs 2 years ago and this has been the worst I've seen. I am new at this whole gardening thing so any help would be awesome. Its mid May here in CT and it should not be this bare. I was under the impression these are green all year round. Anyone have a clue on how these can be saved or are they dying? See pics attached. Thank you all in advance.

Comments (7)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

winter damage ...

you said: , I dont see any new growth coming in.

==>>> there are green leaves on it???? am i missing something???

in my MI.. everything is two to 3 weeks late ..

patience.. and then.. anything that doesnt bud out and green in a few weeks.. presume dead.. and cut back to a live branch ... its up to you.. if you can wait for them to recover.. or rather abandon ship

you dont mention how they looked in fall ... but if they were fine.. then its winter damage ...there are no bugs in winter.. that i know of.. that could possible done anything... and if someone was trying to sell you bug juice.. then i would find a better person .. and they were selling in thier best interest.. not yours ...

give it time.. then prune ... gotta run.. no time to proof

ken

• melli_mel18
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi Ken! Thank you for your response. In the fall this shrub has leaves on it. We did have a very rough winter and even had a frost a few weeks ago. I did have a feeling it may be due to the winter. I think I will wait a few more weeks. By june if there is no new growth than I may have to assume its dying :(

Thanks!

• missingtheobvious
    9 years ago