Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
artzypantz

Whats your favorite Bug Killer for Lawns?

artzypantz
16 years ago

Hi! I was planning to use Sevin granuals on my lawn for bugs & pests. I want to control ants, grubs, fleas, tics, roaches, flys, mosquitos, japanese beetles, spiders, beetles, those BIG brown flying bugs with the hard crusty shells, and wasps for the most part.

I sowed some grass seed in some bare patches about 2 to 3 weeks ago, and the grass is about 2 to 2 1/2 inches tall now. Will the Sevin or any other bug killer, harm my grass seedlings?

Children will play in the yard occasionally and cut thru daily. Will this harm the children with slow release granual?

I've never used Sevin before. I sprayed the foundation with indoor/outdoor bug spray in the past, but would like to cover more ground now.

Whats your favorite pest control for Lawns, and around the outside of the house?

Thanks for your input!

Enjoy your day!

Tonia

Comments (14)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Here's the scoop on Sevin. It is SO toxic to earthworms that it is used to kill them on golf courses or other areas where their activities aren't appreciated. They don't want those bumpy ol' worm holes and castings on those expensive greens, after all! Of all of the 'lawn' pesticides, that's the worst one for worms. There are others that are very detrimental, too. Don't forget the herbicides and fungicides.

I've found that the more one relies on pesticides, the worse the problems are likely to become.

• artzypantz
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you both for your input! I certainly do not want to make problems worse, and i do not wish to kill off earthworms, nor toxify the area.

I have no idea how to keep the lawn and around the house area under control with out using pesticides. I am assuming if Sevin is toxic the rest on the shelf next to it are too.

Isn't there any thing out there that is safe to use?