Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lis2180

Leaves dieing HELP!

lis2180
10 years ago

This is my first year growing, i live in south florida. A few weeks ago i noticed that my sunflower plants leaves started to brown and dry up and die, starting with the oldest leaves, i thought i was normal since the plant was getting big, i thought it was just dropping the oldest leaves, But it wouldn't stop and i had to clip most of the leaves off. Then my squash started to yellow starting with the oldest leaves and browning on the edges, right now it's just one leaf on each plant, and a few days ago I notice my cucumber plant is doing the same thing. Whats happening? To give you a overview, when I first started noticing I just sprayed a organic pest control on the plants and about a hour later it started to rain heavily. The sunflower leaves had large blotchy spots on it, I thought it was the pest spray, but the next day the leaves started to brown and turn papery and die within the week. I made sure the spray was safe for the plants and read the directions. There other 2 plants didn't show that symptom though, they just started to yellow and brown and turn papery, but a lot slower than the sunflowers. I make sure I don't over water them or underwater them either. I used fish fertilzer once, a month ago, i didn't do it again because the soil I bought said it feeds them up to 3 months, and I was worried about over fertilzing. everything I use is organic. Please help me, I don't want to lose my plants. I posted a picture of each leaf of the infected plants, from left to right is squash, sunflower, cucumber. I wish i can post more photos but it would only let me post one. If you want more photos let me know

Comments (8)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

please never treat for bugs again .... w/o actually finding a bug ....

no bugs make the leaves look like this ...

organic or not.. that was pollution.. defined as using something that wasnt necessary ...