Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jaybea20_gw

Arborvitae help! Identify...and more

jaybea20
9 years ago

Hi there!

I'm a newbie and I planted two of these last year. They were missing tags at the local nursery, and the rep told me they would be about 6-8 feet tall. They were the last two, I loved the color, so I bought them. Does anyone have specifics on this? I'm just worried they need more room than where I planted them, so it would be nice to have details.

Second, I'm having some problems with one of them. It's giving some crispiness on the ends-could it be just a hard winter (we did have a cold winter this past yr)?

Third, what can I fertilize with to help it along? I'm a newbie, so I just have to ask-is the beautiful yellow green branches a bad sign? That's how I bought them last year and I loved the colors...but maybe the newbie that I am, I bought sick ones? They feel healthy, and are very bright.

TIA!
J

Comments (4)

• hortster
    9 years ago

Not 100% sure, but compare to 'Yellow Ribbon' arborvitae. If you just planted last fall don't fertilize until next spring, and if they have reasonable growth between now and then, don't fertilize them then.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

try the conifer forum ...

its more yellow that my yellow ribbons... there are about at least 6 versions of which it could be ...

winter damage probably due to not being fully established from the transplant ...

conifers are trees.. and IMHO... they never need to be fed .. and i grow about 600 conifers on sand ...

looking at it.. i see at least 6 to 12 inches of growth last year [no scale].. look how the bark changes color.. and you can find the last 3 years growth ... [last pic.. at 6 oclock... there is grey bark.. that above it is tan ... that is all last years growth ... and this years will come green until later in fall when it tans.. etc] .