Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lyssalea

Leaf mold? Blight? Aphids? All of them? Help!

lyssalea
9 years ago

Hi, everyone,
This is my first year in a house and thus my very first garden. I started late in the season, so mostly bought my plants. My patio tomato and sweet hot pepper plants looked especially happy (or so I thought) when I planted them but now something is clearly going very wrong, and I'm so clueless. I've googled until my eyes crossed and still feel too hesitant to name what on earth is afflicting them.

The patio tomato has mottled purply brown splotches all over. I thought it was limited to one branch but it seems to be spreading. I plucked the worst ones off. You can see the pics below. My best googled guess was leaf mold, and if so, how do I treat it?
{{gwi:75281}}

{{gwi:75282}}

{{gwi:75283}}

{{gwi:75284}}

And then I thought it was just the patio tomato, but the pepper plants looks ill as well. This wee pepper is completely covered in sooty mold.
{{gwi:75286}}

And the pepper's leaves have a few white and brown spots.
{{gwi:75288}}

I haven't seen bugs camping out on the plants. The undersides of the leaves do have some detritus that I assumed was dirt from a rather messy planting process but now I wonder if it's bug-related.

Any ideas on what issue (or multiple issues) I have? And can I treat it? I'm sorry if this is all rudimentary--Gardening 101 if you will--but Gardenweb has always been so much more helpful to me than Googling! Thanks so much!

Comments (3)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

could we see pix of the whole plants.. and the general set up ...

stressed plants get weird leaves ... but.. treating the leaves.. will not reduce the stress .. a vicious circle ..

so i am thinking.. being your first garden and all .. that if we address your plant 'culture' ... and then reduce the stress ... THEN we can deal with the leaf problem ...

also, i am a bit confused... is your patio T on the patio.. or in the ground???