Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dontknowdoodly

Plant leaves loosing color, turning white.....

dontknowdoodly
13 years ago

We have a few plants in a small garden. Some of them (Agastache, Morning Glory, Coreopsis) are turning white. The leaves look almost variegated. They all looked great this spring, but as summer hits, they look like they are loosing all green color. All the leaves on these plants are doing it, not just some leaves.

Other plants do not show any sign of it at all. (Coneflower, Zinnias, Lillies, Acanthus), all look great still.

Thanks to anyone who can diagnose this and give me a remedy. I would think it's some soil deficiency.

Image link:

Comments (16)

• naturalmommys
    13 years ago

I am new to gardening and this is also happening to my tomato plants. I thought at first it was the hot Vegas sun "bleaching" them but I still dont know the cause. I sure hope someone with an answer chimes in here.:)

• weedlady
    13 years ago

I wonder if it is some sort of soil deficiency, although the plant families involved are varied and overlap those plants not affected. I would take a good-sized sample of each of the affected plants in to my local extension office if I were you. I am sure they would be able to diagnose the problem.
    Let us all know the results!

• taz6122
    13 years ago

It sure resembles spidermite damage but no sign of webbing or mites that I can see.
    Have you used any fertilizer?

• dontknowdoodly
    Original Author
    13 years ago

No sign of any webbing. The loss of color is right in the leaves. It doesn't rub off or anything like that. I use fertilizer. Normally Miracle Grow (either bloom or grow) depending on time of year and plant condition.

• taz6122
    13 years ago

Your location might help narrow this down. How often do you fertilize? When did you fertilize last? What was the NPK of that fertilizer?
    It doesn't look like a deficiency that I'm familiar with but could be a combination.