Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
something eating columbine flowers, plus leaf holes

Posted by arylkin 5a (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 20, 13 at 21:18

This is my first year in a house and the first with a garden. I’ve been reading a lot about plants and feel like I’m becoming somewhat educated about them, but when it comes to garden pests I know very little.

I’ve been noticing holes on my hostas, which I attributed to slugs (although I can’t say I’ve ever seen one). I tried doing a ring of coffee grounds on top of the mulch around them, but I can’t say that I’ve noticed a difference. I think it’s time for some more drastic measures.

Also, I’m noticing that something is eating other plants in my garden, from coneflowers, to black eyed susans, even a bit on a geum, lupine, and goldenrod.

Today, I saw that one of my columbine flowers had been eaten and there was a little green bug perched on top of it. It was one that was nearing the end of its lifespan, but the eating damage was clearly caused by something bad.

When I went to look at it a couple hours later the bug was still there.

Here's a pic:

photo DSCN5299.jpg

Then leaf damage on coneflowers:

photo DSCN5305.jpg

photo DSCN5304.jpg

photo DSCN5302.jpg

black eyed susan:

photo DSCN5303.jpg

geum:

photo DSCN5306.jpg

dwarf shasta daisy:

photo DSCN5307.jpg

then the assorted hosta damage:

photo DSCN5315.jpg

photo DSCN5314.jpg

photo DSCN5313.jpg

photo DSCN5310.jpg

photo DSCN5309.jpg

I’d really welcome any advice, as well as what to do to control these problems in my garden. I am not averse to using chemicals as long as they won’t harm someone if they touch a leaf a day or two after application. I don't really want to harm the bumble bees I get though, would a regular insecticide hurt them?

This post was edited by arylkin on Thu, Jun 20, 13 at 21:21

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: something eating columbine flowers, plus leaf holes