Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beachbum44_gw

Aphids on brussel sprouts

beachbum44
10 years ago

I am a beginner gardener so I hope this isn't a dumb question. I searched other posts, but couldn't find anything about this. I didn't think to take a photo until AFTER I sprayed the plant down so there aren't nearly as many in the photo as there were right before.
I have a brussel sprout plant that seemed to be doing well until I recently discovered tons of aphids on the new growth. I read to blast them with water so I did that but there were still a lot on the plant. I hosed with water a second time and then sprayed an organic insecticide on it. The amount has reduced, but there are still quite a bit on the new growth and I can see some on the brussel sprouts. Yesterday, I saw ants making their way up the plant. This is disturbing to me because I lost an artichoke plant to aphids that was then overtaken by ants. I'm worried that the sprouts are infested with aphids and I'm not sure if I can safely save the plant and eat the sprouts or if it's too far infested. The plant itself still looks healthy, besides all the aphids...
Any advice on the plant and how to get rid of the aphids and ants would be greatly appreciated.

Another related question- are ants okay in a garden because there are TONS in my garden! They are mostly in the soil and not on the plants, but they seem to be nesting in the soil.

Comments (9)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

Hello, bb! First of all, you need to remember that any healthy plant can tolerate some aphids. You can probably keep them in check with frequent sprays of water. Because they multiply so rapidly, you'll need to tend to this chore regularly.

In most situations, ants aren't a problem. However, some ant species can make an aphid problem worse by defending them against the other critters that may feed on or control aphids.