Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cghpnd

ugh...cant figure this out

cghpnd
10 years ago

Hey y'all. I'm quite frustrated. This is my first year doing the gardening thing and I must admit its a stress reliever. In the last few weeks my plants are turning yellow and dying. Here's a pic. What is causing this yellowing of the plants?.how to fix it?thanks.

Comments (26)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

i dont see any yellowing..

and i dont recognize the plant.. do you know what it is??

and is it being grown in a pot...

and did you use fresh media.. or old media ...

the more facts you can give.. the better answer you will get ...

ken

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    10 years ago

My apologies, i thought all 3 photos were posted. That is a swamp milkweed. The leaves are yellowing on the swamp and tropical milkweed and zinnias. The damage on that photo is like tiny pin holes running along the middle. like something poked holes in it. This all started about 3 weeks ago. The soil was new, about 5 months new. Brand new everything.

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    10 years ago

5th attempt of posting pics

• cghpnd
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So disappointing

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

when the lowest.. or oldest leaves ... yellow.. but the growth points remain vigorous.. i default to water issues...

and looking at the last pic.. wonder if the brick wall is baking them.. long into the night ... rather than allowing them to recover ... how hot does teh pot itself get.. most things like cool roots ....

also... you have a lot of rather large plants.. in what looks like a relatively small square pot.... whats your fertilizer regimen ...

and just by eyeballing it.. you could probably do a lot better than that potting media you have.... may i guess bigboxstore stuff????

potting media is a science.. and covered ad nauseum in GW .... and no two are equal ...