Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Scraping Insect Eggs from Bottom of Leaves

Posted by 8fleetfeet 5 (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 27, 13 at 14:07

Hello,

This is my first year with a vegetable garden, and my zucchini and yellow squash have REALLY taken a hit from cucumber beetles, squash bugs, leaf-footed bugs, etc. I just had to pull out a few dead / dying plants, and I saw a million more pests than what I thought were there. Gross!

Anyway, my question is this: what is the best way to scrape insect eggs off the underside of leaves? In order to truly remove the eggs, I always end up damaging the leaves with my gardening gloves.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Scraping Insect Eggs from Bottom of Leaves

Gently squish.

o

Just make sure that you're squishing the enemies' eggs and not those of a beneficial. Isn't it crazy how strongly some of those eggs are glued to the leaf?

o

Really? So I'm supposed to be squishing, not scraping? I had no idea.

Thank you.

And yes, it IS insane how firmly glued those darned eggs are.

o

you can also try natural killers like ladybugs, lacewings, and others they often eat eggs of insects along with aphids and other pests. be careful of what pesticides you use as it is a food garden. move the types of plant around your garden from year to year this will keep the bugs the eat one type of plants from grouping in one area. plants with big leaves can be wiped down but unless you have a lot of free time this is hard to do. get to know the bugs in your area and what they look like. you can check out your local Horticulture Center extensions most offer classes and have tons of info. where I live we have penn state extension. talk to other gardeners in your area. when I worked at lowes in the garden center we had the ortho book which listed almost every bug or issue known, it was helpful to help id things because of the pictures.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.