Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
india236_gw

webs on lilacs

india236
16 years ago

I am new at this! My lilacs are increasingly droopy and when I looked at the one which looks like it will die I saw webs all over it. What could this be--and how does one treat it?

Also I found white flies on a rudbeckia. I treated it, but do I have to keep it away from other plants when something like this happens? how far away?

Comments (8)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    16 years ago

after 6 weeks of drought.. my lilacs were droopy ... are you watering them properly .. how long have they been planted??? dig a small hole near the plant.. and insure that water is making it to the root zone.. if not.. they are thirsty ...

webs is not enough info for a good idea of what is happening to them .. its spider time in august ... no need to do anything about those ...

NEVER spray a plant unless you see damage on the plant.. white flies could be from your soil or mulch and have nothing to do with the rubeckia .... please limit your spraying to problems that need it.. rubeckia are near bullet proof and i have never done anything with mine ... are you sure there really was a problem ...???

i wouldn't go digging stuff up in august for quarantine ... most likely the shock will kill it due to high summer heat ..

relax.. lilac and rubeckia are not plants that should need all that much care ...

good luck

and understand.. you aren't a true gardener.. until you have killed each plant three times .... both will probably be fine without anything other than good watering in august.. ken

• Kimmsr
    16 years ago

Most likely the webbing you are seeing is from spider mites and hot, dry weather is to their benefit. The simplest means of control is to mist the lilac several times a day, or spray with an insecticidal soap every 5 to 7 days although that is not as effective as misting, simply increasing the humidity around the plant.

16 years ago