Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brandi3214

Something is eating holes in my flowers! PLease HELP!

Brandi3214
9 years ago

I love gardening but I'm fairly new at it. I've noticed something is eating up my flowers. It all started with one of my black eyed susans.. First I noticed holes in the leaves then within a matter of days it has eaten the whole thing up except them stem and beginning to spread to my clematis that I have planted next to it.. I also have Rainbow lantana planted in this bed as well. As far as I can tell it hasn't attacked my Lantana yet. I need to know what kind pesticide or treatment can be used to treat this ASAP. Also, can the same pesticide be used for all plants or are there specific ones for specific types of flowers? I live in south Ga on a pecan grove if that helps, and we have had some dry spells here lately. I do water my flowers daily so they shouldn't be lacking in that dept. Please, helpful advice would greatly be appreciated!

Comments (7)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

need a pic.. 'holes' isnt very insightful .. for us to guess at anything other than something is eating holes ...

ken

• Gairid
    9 years ago

There are quite a few insects that enjoy rudbeckia; as ken_adrian mentioned, a picture of the damage might be the best way to target what it might be. I've had various caterpillars, snacking on mine and in another area it was weevils and aphids. Aphid damage wouldn't look like holes in the petals or leaves, though and you would definitely notice them.

• dbarron
    9 years ago

Very little will eat lantana, so it's probably safe.

• Kimmsr
    9 years ago