Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
help!!!! aphids???? on my jade!!!!

Posted by snoelk4 7 (My Page) on
Wed, Aug 31, 11 at 14:28

CAN ANYONE HELP ME WITH IDENTIFYING THESE NASTY BUGS AND WHAT I SHOULD DO PLEASE!???
I HAVE ALREADY WENT TO THE GARDEN SHOP AND USED AN ORGANIC BROAD SPECTRUM INSECTICIDE BUT THEY ARE STILL THERE.
I LOVE MY JADE AND I AM VERY SAD. I AM NEW TO THIS AND I WILL HAPPILY GIVE MORE INFORMATION IF NEEDED.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE,
SARAH

Image link: help!!!! aphids???? on my jade!!!! (2 k)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: help!!!! aphids???? on my jade!!!!

The picture is too small to tell what they are. Aphids should be easy for you to remove with a wet cotton ball. Look under the leaves too. Do you have other plants nearby that might have aphids too?

o
RE: help! aphids? on my jade!

Succulents often react poorly to pesticides of any & all pesticides

If the plant is of a size that can tolerate it, hose off the critters, then repeat as needed.

Oh yes, the image is far too small to determine what is present. Can you try again, please?

o
RE: help. aphids on my jade?

larger image here. a tad out of focus though

Here is a link that might be useful: image

o
re: see repost for larger picture) help!!!! aphids???? on my jade

PLEASE NOTE; I APOLOGIZE FOR THE ACCIDENTAL POSTING TWICE. THE SECOND POST HAS A LARGER IMAGE. I AM NEW AND MADE A MISTAKE ON THAT.

THE CORECT POST: http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/pests/msg0814321025691.html?3

PHOTO LINK BELOW

THANK YOU!

Here is a link that might be useful: BETTER PHOTO

o

yep, those are aphids. I would try all of the suggestions above... spray them off with a hose and/or wet cotton ball/swab with rubbing alcohol and touch the aphids to kill them. You won't get rid of them in one try, it takes persistence to get rid of them, especially if your plant is outside. If it's outside, you could also try buying some ladybugs, they love to eat aphids.

Amy

o

Purchased ladybugs will leave.