Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
snoelk4

help! insects on my beloved jade!!! pic

snoelk4
12 years ago

CAN ANYONE HELP ME WITH IDENTIFYING THESE NASTY BUGS AND WHAT I SHOULD DO PLEASE!???

I HAVE ALREADY WENT TO THE GARDEN SHOP AND USED AN ORGANIC BROAD SPECTRUM INSECTICIDE BUT THEY ARE STILL THERE.

I LOVE MY JADE AND I AM VERY SAD. I AM NEW TO THIS AND I WILL HAPPILY GIVE MORE INFORMATION IF NEEDED.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE,

SARAH

Image link:

Comments (9)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago

Can't really see these insects well enough to be certain. Do they have a solid red body with black legs and antennae?

If so, they are the nymphs of one of the assassin bug species, a beneficial insect.

If they have the red bodies with tiny little black spines or dots on their backs, they might be the nymphs of leaf-footed bugs. Not so beneficial.

They don't really look like aphids to me.

I'd suggest that you take your plant to a nearby garden hose and gently spray the critters away. Jades are quite sensitive to insecticidal soap and pyrethrin; hopefully your pesticide of choice was not one of those.

• snoelk4
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thank you for your response.

I accidently created 2 posts, the second one about 2 minutes after this one which has a much larger photograph.

Update: I just left my local garden/grow shop and you are correct! They are leaf footed bugs, in the nymph stage. The very knowledgeable people at the shop even had to do some research to find out what kind of insect we were dealing with. They were very surprised to see this particular type of bug. I'm guessing because it is not that common in this area but I am not certain.