Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Egg/Pest/Disease Identification

Posted by jubebabe Wisconsin (My Page) on
Thu, Aug 2, 12 at 15:08

I am new to flower gardening, this is my 3rd summer with a garden, and my 1st time on a forum.

So here is my issue:

Spring 2012 while weeding, I found around 10 white, round soft egg type things. They have a few roots attached. I squished one and it had a whitish/gray jelly inside (gross)! This is a full-sun area. I do have a couple perennials planted, but have no idea what this could be from?

Summer 2012, in the same area, I have what appears to be diseased "Surprise Lily's" or "Bare-Naked Ladies" emerging from the ground. They are spiked, but the stalk is reddish-pink, mushy and they stink. I pulled some and they appear be emerging from a small white, round soft egg type thing.

Approximately 30 of these stinky spikes have appeared in this area last two months, they are gross and this section of my garden reeks of something rotten and dead.

I do have Surprise Lily's in my garden, but not near this spot.

Additionally, today, as thinning my Balsam flowers, I pulled a few that had those same round white soft egg type things butted up to the Balsam roots.

I have attached a picture of the eggy things and the stinky spikes.
Does anyone know what they are? And, if the eggs and spikes are the same thing?

Thank you very much for your help!
Jubebabe

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Egg/Pest/Disease Identification

stinkhorn mushrooms ... though it has some much more colorful suggestive names.. including the latin ...

endemic to the mulch or decaying wood you have in your soil

ignore them

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

o
Stinkhorn Mushrooms...who'da thought!

WOW!!!! THAT IS COMPLETELY INSANE!!!

Probably will ignore them, they are stinky though!

*Here's another picture of my new crop of stinkhorn mushrooms!

Thank you very much for you quick response,
Julie

o