Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Need help IDing insect eggs

Posted by ajwalsh Northern Cal 10a (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 12, 06 at 23:14

Hi. I'm new to gardening, so please bear with me. I started an herb garden in containers ~1 month ago. All are kept outside. This morning I found tiny, white, round insect eggs, ~1-1.5 mm in diameter, on the underside of leaves of some of my plants. Mainly, my mints have be affected. I found very few eggs on my greek oregano and marjoram, and none on my basil, purple sage, and, surprisingly, my pineapple mint. I don't think my lemon verbena had any eggs either. Anyway, the eggs are laid singly, not en masse. And on many leaves, I found only a single egg and at most 5-6 eggs clustered together per leaf. I didn't see a preference as to which leaves on the plant were affected (new leaves compared to old leaves). Also, I didn't find any insects on the leaves (no flies or caterpillars) and no webs. The eggs came off the leaves very easily, no stickiness what-so-ever. I'd really appreciate help IDing which insect is doing this. I removed all the eggs off the leaves that I could find. I just hope it's not a beneficial bug. Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Need help IDing insect eggs

can you describe the eggs, other than not being stickee???

ken

o

have fun with the link ... ken

Here is a link that might be useful: bug egg IMAGES at google

o

Identifying insect eggs from a verbal description is pretty difficult unless the eggs have some unusual feature. At 1-1.5 mm., they are pretty good size for an insect. Your growing season is not nearly over as ours is here, so I would expect the eggs to hatch fairly soon. It would be helpful to know what kind of creature comes out of the eggs.

o

• Posted by ajwalsh Northern California (My Page) on
    Sat, Sep 16, 06 at 17:24