Return to the Garden Clinic Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
pest or disease?

Posted by rogerydh none (My Page) on
Sat, Oct 29, 11 at 5:25

Hi all,

Thank you for your replies.

I apologize for the bad photo posted. Please see my new posting, as picture attachments are not allowed in followup replies.

The picture is the underside of a fallen leaf. I have more pictures but it seems I am limited to one picture upload?

Thanks in advance!

Image link: pest or disease? (59 k)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: pest or disease?

Do you find these just on the plant leaves or are they also on the plant stems?

o

rogerydh, towards the bottom of the leaf, along the midrib, there is a brown spot which reminds me of a scale insect. I found a picture of similar on this site.
http://www.freshfromflorida.com/pi/enpp/ento/poliapsis_cycadis.html

o

@Kimmsr,

Yes. Its on the leaves and on the stems.

@ronalawn82,

I looked at the site and it does look like it. I am a total newbie to this. Does that mean its a pest called Scale? :)

Guess I will go get another type of pesticide.. :)

Thanks a million!

o

If they're scale, that means nothing, short of physically rubbing them off, will work unless the recently hatched crawlers are moving.

If the rest of the plant is as heavily infested as the ONE leaf, then you would be wise to avoid pesticides and replace the plant.

o

The most common method of control for scale is the use of a horticultural oil spray, a dormant oil when the plants are dormant or a superior oil during the growing season. Because these oils do kill insects they are pesticides but are usually distinguished from pesticides for more clarity. Most any pesticide you use could kill off the predators of scale, although I have seen some reports that Neem Oil products have helped control scale sometimes.

o

Sprays against scale are effective when the crawlers (new hatchlings) are out & about.

o