Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skyclad

Lots of Seed in my "Straw"....

skyclad
10 years ago

Hello to all..
Not sure if this is the right place for this issue, but it has to do with the mulch I've been using for several years now.. It seems that it's probably more like hay than straw, as in full of seed........resulting in my garden growing tons of weeds among my plants (see pic).. So now, since it's near the end of the growing season, I would like to kill the existing seeds in my garden before next season via something I saw awhile back (or whatever you might suggest if a better idea).. I believe it was called "solarization" or something like that.. You cover the garden with a tarp, covering the edges with something to ensure a tight seal........essentially baking the weedSeeds and killing them. Does anyone have any further info about this method, or something that would work better? Please let me know.. Also, ultimately, I need to find another source for my "straw" mulch.. Thanks in advance for any info you might have..!

Comments (11)

• jean001a
    10 years ago

"Seed-free" straw doesn't exist.

It's easiest to deal with the seedlings when they're small -- rake them out, Hand pull/weed. Or cover with 2 inches of mulch.

• calliope
    10 years ago