Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marjorie_knapp

Need Pest ID

Marjorie Knapp
10 years ago

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I hoping someone can ID this pest that is all over my cucumber vines. I'm in zone 9B in Central FL.

Thank you,
Marj

Comments (10)

• Marjorie Knapp
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Belly view of this guy.

• jean001a
    10 years ago

Nice images.

Actual size?

What was it doing? Could have been just hanging out for a while.

Was it a one and only? If so, unlikely to be a problem.

Or did it have lots of friends with it? Even if so, may or may not be a pest. At least, none that I recognize.

• art33
    10 years ago

Hi Marj and welcome to GardenWeb!

Well, I'm no expert on bugs but my guess would be that it's some kind of ground beetle. If so, they're considered beneficial predators that feed on aphids, grubs, slugs, etc. I think they're often found under things like leaves or rocks.

Art

• Marjorie Knapp
    Original Author
    10 years ago

@Jean
    They are about the same size as a lady bug maybe a little smaller.
    There are hundreds of them on my cucumber plants, which is in decline. They mostly hide in the leaves that are turning brown and the flowers. The only thing they seem to be munching on is the flowers. They are annoying because when I pull out declining leaves they come pouring out and fly everywhere.

@Art you seem to be right they like hiding in the declining leaves, but they are annoying like a house fly. When I do housecleaning of the plants, they fly all over the place including my face.

Thank you both for the reply. I'm assuming they will go away when I pull the plants which I will do soon, since they are in decline.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

They aren't ground beetles.....which are found on the ground. These don't really look familiar to me, especially in that size and those numbers.

• Marjorie Knapp
    Original Author
    10 years ago