Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunshine_mom

brownish at the base of plant

sunshine_mom
10 years ago

Hi all! I got this plant a few months ago and it was repotted for me by the store owner. It had a flower but today I cut it down because the color was dull and almost brownish red. Overall, does this anthurium plant look healthy or is the brownish part on the bottom a problem? Also today I found a couple of flying insects frying around this plant that I need to get rid of asap. I want this plant to produce new flowers since right now it only has a few leaves. What is the branch in the middle: new leaf or will be a flower? I'm very new to all this and haven't seen many anthuriums in various stages of development. Thanks.

This post was edited by sunshine_mom on Thu, Nov 14, 13 at 13:26

Comments (14)

• sunshine_mom
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Just another picture for more clarity.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

i cant focus on the brown part ...

is it the remnants of old leaves cut off ???

or the stinkee rot of death ...

it would have been nice to see the color of the flower ...

those leaves left look extremely happy ... why arent you .. lol ...

dont know where you are ... you could change that NONE next to your name to big city name ... on your member's page ...

in my forced air heated MI winter home.. tropical plants would not be happy in front of the cold air return ... if thats its permanent site ....

ken

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

The brown bits at the bottom are normal. The thing-that's-not-a-leaf in the middle is a cataphyll, a leaf sheath. It will eventually turn brown and be a new 'brown bit' at the bottom. You can pluck them off with a tweezer (or fingernails if you've got them, and the dexterity/steadiness to not gouge the base of the plant.)

Agree, it looks happy, and that knowing where you are would help with giving the best advice. What kind of light do you have for it?