Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luisito8m

HELP! Tiny insects!

luisito8m
12 years ago

I woke up this morning to find out that bugs are eating my cayanne and serrano pepper plants.

They are tiny and round, 1mm diameter at maximum, no wings, black. It seems they somehow enter the leaf and eat it from the inside creating a puzzle like pathway on the leaves and it does look freaky since they only leave the top and bottom membrane of the leaves, they only eat the inside of it..

They are all over spread on my 2 plants, and it seems they are multiplying, I can see tiny eggs beneath some of the leaves.

I am writing this in a hurry, but I may be able to post some pics later today.. Meanwhile, it will be cool to hear some ideas on how to get rid of those things.

I am an amateur gardener so, everysingle advice counts! :D

Thank you guys!

-Luis

Comments (11)

• jean001a
    12 years ago

Sound like leafminers. But please your image so we can be certain.

• jean001a
    12 years ago

oops, meant "up;load your images"

I suspect you're seeing the tiny dark spots within the mines. If so, that's the critter's frass ([poop).

- The egg-layers are small flies.
    - They put their eggs on the surface of the leaf, often the underside.
    - Repeated diligent search-and-destroy missions against the eggs helps greatly.
    - Also crush the critters as soon as you see them begin a mine.

• luisito8m
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Jean! Your most right! I googled "leafminers" and that is exactly what my pepper plants got.

I am new to gardening but for me that looks just way too freaky, haha.

So what is your expert advice to kill those things?

Here are links to the pic I took this morning:

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2lm07mc&s=5

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=121wpxy&s=5

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=afiuea&s=5

Thanks!

• jean001a
    12 years ago

Oops, you have two things going there.