Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
borik_gw

strawberry leaves turning brown, Please Help...

Borik
11 years ago

Hi there,

I am complete newbie, I got this plant from My Grandmother as present, I spend summers there as kid, so it has a lot of sentimental value for me and i will NOT be able to get another one.

I Planted about 2/3 weeks ago, and it was doing great but now its seems that leaves started to get Brown on the edges...

I used "miracle Gro potting mix" and tap water.

Please any advise is welcome.

Borik

Comments (9)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

hey.. newbie.. welcome ...

there is a fruit forum.. and i have never seen many of those peeps here.. so there are other places to ask ..

first.. this is a full sun.. OUTDOOR plant ... as a newbie ... you are really starting out with a hard one .. to keep indoors ... is there any chance.. come spring.. this thing can go outside in mother earth ????

second .. any given strawberry plant.. is extremely short lived ... they are usually planted.. looking like yours in spring.. and by august.. they throw out runners.. and most SB'y peeps throw out the original ... under the presumption.. that the runner. IS!! .. the original.. so as a newbie.. i want you to start prepping yourself for this eventuality ...

third ... as i said.. this looks like a stock spring plant ... or a runner separated last fall.. by spring.. normally ALL those leaves you now see.. will be dead ... life .. and the future is all in the center.. what we would call the CROWN of the plant.. as the oldest leaves start to fail .. they are removed.. and new ones are generated from the crown ...

on yours.. the stem at 2 o'clock.. should be snipped off .. as well as the one at 4 o'clock .. in a week or two .. take of the 7 and 9 o'clock ones ...

simply keeping the plant clean.. by removing decaying.. aged leaves.. will get you far .. hopefully to spring.. so it can go outside????