Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Stem problem on new cutting

Posted by mike88 California (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 21, 07 at 23:36

This cutting was just rooted indoors in the last couple of months. I transplanted it about a month ago and moved it outside. Not long after moving it, it started to develop the brown area shown in the photo. Since then it has spread around the stem. It doesn't feel like rot. It isn't mushy to the touch more like its dehydrated. I planted it in a mix of of coir, calcined clay, and pumice. It hasn't been in full sun, just morning sun. I don't think I'm overwatering it. I'm letting it go pretty dry between waterings. I'm just waiting for it to topple over any day now. I'm new to the plumeria world, so if anybody could tell me what might be wrong, I'd appreciate it. I'm also wondering that if this does continue all the way through the stem, can I cut it off and reroot the remainding portion? Thanks.

Image link: Stem problem on new cutting (59 k)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Stem problem on new cutting

Hi Mike - I had similar problem. I didn't do any thing because the tip seems to be growing claws and everything above the brown section of the plumeria was nice and firm. It's been too long and I couldn't wait any more and so I cut it at the brown section. Glad I did because it was gone...rotted. So I cut it until I saw the white latax. I personally don't like to wait for the cutting to callous and so I stuck it back into the pot and it is doing very well now. I did not water because the soil was already moist. In my area, Riverside County, it gets very hot...so I like to root in the shade. I hope some of this info will help. Good luck.

Kasie

o

Hi Kasie. Thanks for the advice. I think I'll try to cut it back this weekend. I just wanted to make sure I hadn't done anything obvious that might have led to the problem that I can avoid the second time around.

Mike

o