Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scott_madison

Plumeria issue....

Greetings...
I'm hoping someone can help me with this. I am new at growing Plumerias... but have tons of other tropicals I winter over every year. I noticed a couple weeks ago that the tips of my dormant plumeria were beginning to shrivel and turn black. I have it down my basement and have not watered it since bringing it indoors in October. It looked fine up until a couple weeks ago. The temperature in my basement hovers in the mid 50's. I have been reading about the dreaded black tip fungus. Does this appear to be the issue? If so, what do I need to do? I'd hate to lose this plant, as it grew beautifully for me this past summer, and I was looking forward to flowers this coming summer. Thanks!

Comments (11)

• Andrew Scott
    10 years ago

I hate to say this but it doesn't look good. If it were me, I would sterilize a sharp knife and cut off the blackened tip until the exposed tissue was green and healthy.

Please don't dive into it just yet. I have been growing plumeria trees for about 4 or 5 years now. I am far from being an expert and I would hate to find out that I gave you the wrong advice. When you say you have been reading about the dreaded black tip, do you mean you have read up on it here? You can research it here on the forum. Just type it in in the search bar on the top right of the page. There should be quite a bit of old posts about black tip.

If you still need help, I am pretty sure there will be others here that can help you. There has not been a ton of info here lately so if in a few days no one has helped you out, I will ask some of my more experienced friends to help you.

God luck! One last question. Do you happen to know what variety you have there? I do know that some plumeria are more susceptible to Black Tip than others.

Andrew

• scott_madison Zone 5a- Madison, WI
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Andrew...
    The variety is Celadine.

• barb13_gw
    10 years ago