Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
When to remove a rubber band from grafted plants

Posted by robert1971 7a OK (My Page) on
Sun, Jan 27, 13 at 12:00

Howdy!

I got an awesome grafted 4222 plumeria from Florida Colors back on 10/17/12. It's been growing under a CFL since I received it and is putting out new leaves so I'm assuming the graft took? It had recently been grafted and still has the rubber band on the graft union (that's how I received it). I'm thinking I should remove it soon however being a newbie I'd like some expert opinions if possible. :)

I've snapped some pics and would love some advice!
One side the graft union looks deep, the other side looks fine.

Thank you,
Robert

20130127_102706_zps6e574d8f photo 20130127_102706_zps6e574d8f.jpg

20130127_102652_zpsed099462 photo 20130127_102652_zpsed099462.jpg

20130127_102728_zps82fa932d photo 20130127_102728_zps82fa932d.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: When to remove a rubber band from grafted plants

• Posted by mksmth oklahoma 7a (My Page) on
    Sun, Jan 27, 13 at 15:13

Hey Robert. That gap in the graft concerns me. I have no experience with a grafted one but does not lokk right to me. You call carol and ask her.

Mike

o

Hi Robert!!!

I would agree with Mike and call Carol and send her a pic of this graft. The tree looks healthy, but the graft doesn't look like it has (Healed) sealed properly. The tree iself looks healthy and im sure it has healed enough for the tree to continue to do well, but i would be concerned about the space left. She may even mention to seal it and give you the proper sealant to use. My concern would be protecting the opening.

I am no expert, but i would leave the band on and call Carol. She will give you the best advice.

Like i mentioned, the tree loooks great!! I think the graft healed in a different way and it just needs a little more protection. It would make you ( us) feel better. (The tree seems fine with it!!) ;-)

Take care,

Laura

o

Thanks, guys!