Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gchap_gw

My plumeria is dying after transplant

gchap
11 years ago

Hi, I'm pretty new to all things gardening. I have a plumeria that has been potted for several years now and we transplanted it to the soil in our front yard. I live in Southern California. I'm guessing that the plant doesn't like the new soil that its been put in. The leaves are turning brown and drying out. I notice that the leaves are easy to pull off as well. Any help would be appreciated. I can't see where to attach multiple pictures, I can reply with additional ones.

Comments (11)

• gchap
    Original Author
    11 years ago

additional photos

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    11 years ago

Any chance you had a frost?

• gchap
    Original Author
    11 years ago

one more

• Kimo
    11 years ago

Where in So Cal are you? Its probably transplant shock accompanied by the fact that its the time of year when plumies go dormant and the leaves drop off. I have a friend in zone 10 in the south bay that moved and dug up his plumies that were in ground and replanted them to their new property, his leaves are doing the same thing as your plumie. If your not in zone 10 then it may be cold damage or frost damage as I know inland areas of So Cal have had frost warnings over the past month at night.
    Good Luck

• gchap
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks for the reply, I'm on the coast in Orange County about a mile from the water. We have had some low 30's nights as of late. I'm wondering if there is anything I can do to mitigate the damage either with fertilizer or something else.

• toomanydogs
    11 years ago