Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plant54

New to Plumeria

plant54
14 years ago

I'm new to Plumeria growing and live in Zone 4. I can't believe the knowledge that's shared here between members, it's so overwhelming. I'm know I can't grow Plumeria's in the ground and more than likely not to in containers. I just want to let you all know, how lucky you are to enjoy those beautiful plants and flowers.

Comments (9)

• mikeod
    14 years ago

I know of people growing plumeria in containers in Canada. A lot depends on what you can do in early spring/late fall to keep them going a bit longer before they go dormant. Normal summer temps should allow them to spend time outdoors on a patio or in the garden. What you need to do is provide sufficient light and heat at other times to extend their growing season enough to get blooms. In the winter, you can put them away, pot and all, in the dark, giving them only enough water to keep the roots from drying out. They will leaf out again in the spring when you put them in light and warmth.
    Mike

• greekman
    14 years ago

I agree with Mike,
    there are many people in North Europe (Sweden etc) growing plumerias in pots and they enjoy their flowers.

The question is "are you really interesting to grow plumerias and enjoy their flowers ?" the answer is 'YES YOU CAN ".

John

• tdogdad
    14 years ago

You can even grow them in the ground. You plant them in spring when the danger of frost is gone and dig them up and store bare root in the fall.

• plant54
    Original Author
    14 years ago

I decided to order some seeds from mauiplumeriagardens.com.
    Been reading up on seed starting, soil mixes, bottom heat, lighting, misting and watering.
    Can't wait to get started.

• tdogdad
    14 years ago