Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
phalanx_viridis

plumeria cold tolerance worries

phalanx_viridis
10 years ago

Hello to all of my friends bitten by the plumeria praxis bug..I am fairly new to plumeria and I have scoured the net and this forum endlessly looking for reassuring facts and opinions about cold tolerance of plumeria.

I have found a lot of valuable info...but when it comes to my zone (9a) and overwintering outside, the answers are a bit....muddy, pardon the pun. Unfortunately, as much 'good' info there is out there, just as much misinformation exists.

I am so grateful to have this forum as a resource and I have used it extensively for nearly 5 years before joining/posting (this is my first) so I want to pose my question here.

I have 7 plumies (2-4 yr olds) that I just recently transplanted to Al's gritty mix (love the science/rationale behind this man), and because of our unusually warm winter here in SoCal (70-80s during the day) I have been moving my specimens outside in the am and back in after sunset...yes my neighbors give me inquisitive looks, but that's my norm.

My (succinct) question is this: overnight temps dip to low 40s at night but only get there and stay for a few hours at most, currently. A majority of the overnight temps are in the 50s. My closest wunderground.com station (temp reference) is pretty close to my home, and I have found it to be pretty accurate to my property. I am wondering if my guys will be okay outside overnight if I keep them up against the westside of my house (stucco), under the eaves as a nanoclimate. I don't have any varieties that have been noted to be extra cold snobby (like singapores etc.) but I have a few rainbows and a miniature varietal. Will they be okay overnight or should I continue to garage them at night?