Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Received Some BIG Cuttings

Posted by Mike_in_Maryland (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 23, 14 at 13:06

Got the attached while in Key West on business last week from a wonderful lady while walking past her yard.

I'm new to plumeria (about 6 months) and have a small one that I am trying to learn with. These cuttings are about 2-3 feet. Should they be trimmed further before planting? Assume the drying time is about 2-3 weeks or should it be longer due to their size?

Thanks to all.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Received Some BIG Cuttings

• Posted by mksmth oklahoma 7a (My Page) on
    Sun, Feb 23, 14 at 16:20

Those are nice cutting mike. I would root them as is. that is a great size in my opinion. Good luck and glad to see you post here.

Mike

o

Mike,

Thank you. Obviously larger pots needed, but any idea how deep for hormone on stem and depth in the soil? My little one from Hawaii only went down about 4", but these will seem to want to tip over. Also, if were to take the smaller of the three and plant as a "baby", is there anything I can do with a stem with two cut ends?

o

• Posted by mksmth oklahoma 7a (My Page) on
    Sun, Feb 23, 14 at 19:05

You can start them in big pots if you want but most of us use a water bottle, baggie or other similiar container to get the roots started first then transplant into the first year pot. No need to take up more room than you have to. I never use hormone but others just dust the cut.

center cuts which have cuts on both ends will root just fine but to me make ugly plants as the new tips come out sideways and then have to turn up. Just looks bad to me.

good luck!

mike

o

Just make sure you pot up the center cut the right end up. The old leaf nodes will smile if in the right direction.

Just a thought. I'll be back to post later mike!!!

Looking good !

Like the other mike mentioned. Pot up the cuttings in a small water bottle or plastic cup. I use Starbucks. Add holes.