Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Mulch

Posted by mikeTB 9 (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 26, 12 at 16:13

I have been trying to find information on mulch for my plumerias. I have read both for and against, so I am confused. I have my plumerias planted in the ground and was wondering if it would damage the tree if I spread Pine Bark mulch around them. I have one planted that was established last year and did wonderful with a lot of flowers, and I have just planted four more that I started from cuttings last year. These are small with very nice root balls.

I am new to this and live south of Tampa Bay in West Central Florida. Any information anyone could provide will be greatly appreciated!

Mike

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Mulch

I think Pine bark is fine to use. From what I have read is to keep it from touching the root flare or trunk to prevent transmission of disease. I don't know if that is absolutely necessary. I typically use lava rock as mulch but all of mine are in containers.

o

kms2
Thank you for replying to my question. I had not considered the disease transmission as I only read about the possibility of rotting the base of the tree. It gets very hot in the summer where I have them planted so I am trying to be careful about placing anything around them that would increase the heat, and certainly trying to keep them safe from me!

Thank you for the info it is appreciated.

Mike

o

• Posted by qaguy Sunset 21/LosAngeles (My Page) on
    Mon, Feb 27, 12 at 15:27

I mulch with redwood bark. It's what's used here in SoCal.

Never have had any disease or rot problems. Mulch will
keep the roots cooler. My mulch goes right up to the trunk.

o

I thought the object was to keep plumeria roots on the warm side. Don't you keep the soil warm when you root cuttings? Personally, I wouldn't use mulch.

o

Mike,