Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Plumeria in Northern CA, zone 9?

Posted by mama2em 9 (My Page) on
Sun, Feb 10, 08 at 19:36

Hey everyone!

I just discovered this web page--what a great recource!

I'd really love to grow a plumeria somewhere in my newly-renovated yard. I live in Northern CA, between San Francisco and San Jose. I am wondering if anyone has had any luck growing them here (zone 9), and if so, which types? I am thinking of buying on eBay but am not sure which type to buy.

Also, I probably should get one that doesn't get too huge--can they be kept manageable in size by pruning? I've looked ont he web and in the Western Garden book but can't find much information specific to my area...

Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Plumeria in Northern CA, zone 9?

The SF Bay area is mild and frost free, so plumerias are a valid candidate to plant, although im not sure if they would like the lack of heat in the summer, but im no expert. You might want to plant it in a south facing wall to get the most heat. Home Depot, Lowes and other nurseries sell plumerias, theres no need to hastle with (usually) small plants sent via mail. The main thing is planting them in a place with good drainage (a raised bed for example). They do not like to sit in standing water and will rot easily that way, especially in the winter months.

o

Hello,