Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shellysplumies

What was your best seedling bloomer ?

ShellysPlumies
11 years ago

Hey all!!

Im new here and this is my first post :) ive been growing plumeria and plumeria seedlings for only about 5 years. And honestly, are seedlings worth the wait? my seedlings are 4 years old and still no blooms.. :( i know that they are not true to parent which is what makes it so exciting!

So i wanted to possibly see any pictures or if anyone wanted to share any past expierences with seedlings.

-Shelly

Comments (14)

• tdogdad
    11 years ago

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    A seedling of Cindy Moragne- my favorite. Most of the others were nothing special and took years. I still have several over a decade old yet to flower. Of this group of 50, I think 3 were worth keeping. Seedlings take much space after 5 years.

• rox146
    11 years ago

I so agree. Exciting to grow something your own and hopes of having a good one to register and name...my 25 seedlings from 2005 have great growth and piddly blooms except for 2 great reds that I got from the 25...life is too short sometimes to do seed pods...;-) roxanne

• joanr
    11 years ago

Shelly,

Here is a picture of an Orange Punch seedling of ours. I am more than thrilled with this plumeria and it is also a great bloomer. Bloomed for the first time last year and at the end of the season it put on another info so I think it will be a good bloomer for us.

The thing with seedlings, you never know what you will get till they bloom. I have some others that look like their parent. While they are pretty, you always hope for that special one.

Joan

• elucas101
    11 years ago

WOW - tdogdad and joan, those are some really lovely seedlings!!! Nice to know there is hope to have even a couple of keepers, you've both got beauties!

• jandey1
    11 years ago

Joan, that OP seedling is to die for! Nice to hear she may also be a good bloomer, too.