Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Trimming a Plumeria in Orlando - Will give cuttings for help

Posted by lily19780 9 (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 13, 10 at 10:43

Hi! I have a large plumeria in front of my porch I would like to trim very soon. I want to do a DRASTIC trim as it is quite large. But I am uncertain how to do this because I am very new to the garden thing. The plumeria came with the house we bought late 2009. If you are in the area and would like some cuttings, I would be happy to exchange your help for the cuttings. I don't know how to post pics on here, but The plumeria is well over 7 ft tall. healthy per our lawn guy that I asked. The plumeria has beautiful white flowers. I didn't know what the name of this was until the lawn guy told me. Thanks for any help!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Trimming a Plumeria in Orlando - Will give cuttings for help

pruning is very simple. Get a pair of clippers and a small saw if pruning larger branches, and some alcohol. Wipe the blades of the cutters and saw. If you want no new branches, you cut where the branch Y's off from the stem or other branch. If you want new branches to grow you need to cut from 6-8" beyond the y. I cut at an angle to keep water from sitting on the cut and I wait an hour and put DAP ceder colored Alex Plus (sealant plus silicone) on the plant cut. The branch cuttings that are removed are not sealed. These can be dried for a week and then planted or can be put in a box or document tube and mailed off. Oh, I forgot, it is good to wipe the blades with alcohol between each cut to keep them clean.

o

THanks! Would using a chainsaw or recip saw be too dramatic for the plumeria?

o