Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desirai_gw

Putting plumeria outside

Desirai
10 years ago

I live in zone 7b, it's staying in the 60s during the day time.

Is it ok for me to put my potted plumeria outside in the sun during 60 degree weather? :) I bring it in when the temps start dropping.

Comments (7)

• tavimh
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert, but I let mine go out and stay out as along as it is 55 degrees or more. Make sure you acclimate your tree to the bright sun. Try it in a warm shady spot for a few days and then light shade (under a patio table can work great!) before putting it in full sun. Doing all this might be a little too cautious, but mine have to go from basement grow-lights to outdoors and that is a big change.

• plumejunkie
    10 years ago

I won't put mine out without night temps constantly 50+.
    Supposed to be 80 today so mine are catching some rays, I've been bringing them in the house at night.

• Desirai
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I think I killed it by putting it outside... please look at my newest thread :(

• powderpuff
    10 years ago

I'm not leaving mine outside at night until temps are high 60's. I have about 20 loaded with inflos, so they go outside each day and back into the sun room at night unless it's around 67 or above. I'm not taking any chances this year. I didn't lose a tip, a rooting cutting or anything this winter and I want to make sure I don't blow it by jumping the gun and rushing them out.

If we weren't having any rain, I would but it looks like it is going to be a wet spring and wet and 50's, nope, not taking the chance.

• No-Clue
    10 years ago

Hi there,