Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plumejunkie

In search of Musk Rainbow

plumejunkie
10 years ago

Hello all plumie people,

In an attempt to bluster my small collection of plumeria, I have decided I'd like to add some select plants to my garden this year & musk rainbow is very high on my list. I've checked around the trusted sights and have had problems finding anything that hasn't been grafted.

Well I know it's trimming season so I figured I'd take a shot and see if any of you like minded people might have a healthy cutting they would be willing to sell me. It will go to a good home as I've been growing for over 10 years & have happy plants.... :P

PLEASE......help me end this mind numbing search for one of the truly profound expressions of the plant we all love soo dearly.

You'll earn good karma points!...... ;)

Thank you all for your time,
Jason

Comments (27)

• powderpuff
    10 years ago

Hi Jason,
    Musk Rainbow can be tough to find and to find one not grafted is going to be very hard. I have one but it is grafted. I don't care for grafted either but some you just never see rooted, and this is one of them. Perhaps they just won't grow well on their own roots. Florida Colors Nursery has them as does Logees but they are grafted. It is beautiful and the fragrance is as well. I would suggest if you love it, get a grafted one.

• elucas101
    10 years ago

And although possibly risky, you could get the grafted, get it really healthy & hydrated before cutting off the top part & then rooting that part.

Although of course Musk Rainbow is not offered frequently and may be too $$ to risk doing that - many people say it's too finicky NOT to graft...but then I think many varieties are grafted that don't need to be- is Musk Rainbow one of those? I don't know.

I have a Scott Pratt / Kohala given to me by jandey, grafted, that I'm going to get hydrated & cut & re-callus to root...I've rooted one as a beginner, I know I can do it- no need to graft.