Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Sick Plumie?

Posted by LizzaNVA 7b (My Page) on
Fri, Mar 23, 12 at 20:44

Hi all, I'm a newbie plumie gardener but have an extensive container collection of citruses, figs, jades, orchids, etc. I just got my first plumie, a Dwarf Singapore Pink from Florida Colors. It had 3 small leaves on it when it arrived. I potted it in a riff on Al's Gritty Mix (I couldn't find turface) and it sat in a sunny window. It was starting to grow new leaves but the brown spots on one of the existing leaves started to look not so good. I've had issues with scale and mites on my jades and citruses so was dosing it with Neem right from the get-go. Then this last Sunday I looked at the brown spots and they were bright orange fungusy looking things. I immediately shot it with the Neem and wiped it down. The problem leaf looked so bad I cut it on Monday and then the other leaves all died. During this I also had it out on my balcony when it was in the middle 80's (in March!) but I erred in leaving it there over night b/c the temps went to 50. So I may have shocked the little leaves.

Any ideas on what the orange stuff was? Will it bug my other plants and will Neem work on it? And did I shock it?

Thanks so much!!!
Liz

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Sick Plumie?

it should be ok as long as there are no soft spots. keep an eye on the growing tip as that is where its most vunerable. if the little claws at the very tip are growing, then its fine.

o

Hey Liz,

I have put my trees outside as well. We are having the same temps as you are having down in VB and i left my trees out when the lows were down to 50 as well. Your tree should be fine. Can u take a pic of the orange spots? Sounds like it could be orange rust. (Mold/Fungus) I have had this during the fall when some of my trees were going dormant. Be careful about putting neem oil on the leaves and letting your trees stay out in the direct sun. This could burn your leaves...