Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goprius11

First time plumeria grower

goprius11
10 years ago

Hello everyone just wanted to say hello! I am new to growing these awesome plants and can't wait to grow my collection of plants!! I got my first cutting in the mail today and I have been doing a lot of reading over the past few weeks and have learned a lot from all of you! Just had a quick question should I store my cutting in a cool dark place or a cool place with a little light? I am in central Florida and day time temps are in the high 70s low 80s and and I have a covered porch that gets no direct sun light all day. Just wanted to see what was the best place for storing my new cutting for drying before planting? How does the cutting look? Thanks again everyone!!!!

Comments (10)

• elucas101
    10 years ago

Hi there and WELCOME! And congrats on your new cutting! It looks really good! Do you know what variety or color you got? How exciting!

So far I've had the best luck with some advice from everyone here - to get some hardwood mulch ($4 or less but only comes in big bags) and put some in a plastic container where you can set your cutting just on top of or above the mulch. Some lay them down, I have stood them up and laid them down depending on space.

Can you take a pic of the end of your cutting? Just curious how callused it already is?

You can use a variety of bins / Tupperware, whatever - I have even used a pitcher. And put the lid over or put aluminum foil on top & put in a warm place (your covered patio sounds perfect) and it creates a kind of humidity chamber for the cutting. The mulch has moisture already in it, in an amount that seems good for keeping the cutting just moist enough without rotting it.

Good luck and I'm sure others will have great advice for you as well. Please keep us updated on your progress!

• goprius11
    Original Author
    10 years ago