Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plumejunkie

Flesh eating plumeria disease???

plumejunkie
10 years ago

Ok guys , I've been growing this tree for around 10 years & I've never seen this before. Is it some strange "flesh eating plumeria disease"...... Or is it's skin just pealing?

What's the deal......

Comments (14)

• plumejunkie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another shot

• plumejunkie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another

• plumejunkie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

1 more

• No-Clue
    10 years ago

Wow I have never seen anything like this before. I hope someone can jump in and diagnose this for you. I'm so sorry this is happening to your plant! :(

Take care,
    Lynn

• eibren
    10 years ago

Looks to me like some critter has developed a taste for plumeria buds, and taken a few bites of the bark as well.

• mjhuntingtonbeach
    10 years ago

I've had similar damage in the past, and I found it to be caused by snails. Strangely, only on two or three varieties of plumeria (particularly Thornton's Lemon Drop and Irma 5), and always on the tender young green growth, never on the older harder growth. I suspect that is your problem, nothing that a bit of snail bait won't take care of. And after a year or so, the plant repairs and fills in that kind of damage - yours doesn't seem to be too badly hurt at this point.

• plumejunkie
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the reply guys. You know, the interesting thing is that they're kept inside at night, so the only time snails would be able to do any damage would be durring the day when they're in the back yard. I always assumed that snails were active at night.

Also, this is the only plant that seems to be affected by this problem and all plants are always kept together.

Hmmmmm...

Here's a pic of a different branch that seems to be peeling...

• scott_madison Zone 5a- Madison, WI
    10 years ago