Return to the Plumeria Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Flesh eating plumeria disease???

Posted by PlumeJunkie 9a SF Bay Area (My Page) on
Mon, Mar 24, 14 at 21:09

Ok guys , I've been growing this tree for around 10 years & I've never seen this before. Is it some strange "flesh eating plumeria disease"...... Or is it's skin just pealing?

What's the deal......

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Flesh eating plumeria disease???

Another shot

o

Another

o

1 more

o

Wow I have never seen anything like this before. I hope someone can jump in and diagnose this for you. I'm so sorry this is happening to your plant! :(

Take care,
Lynn

o

Looks to me like some critter has developed a taste for plumeria buds, and taken a few bites of the bark as well.

o

I've had similar damage in the past, and I found it to be caused by snails. Strangely, only on two or three varieties of plumeria (particularly Thornton's Lemon Drop and Irma 5), and always on the tender young green growth, never on the older harder growth. I suspect that is your problem, nothing that a bit of snail bait won't take care of. And after a year or so, the plant repairs and fills in that kind of damage - yours doesn't seem to be too badly hurt at this point.

o

Thanks for the reply guys. You know, the interesting thing is that they're kept inside at night, so the only time snails would be able to do any damage would be durring the day when they're in the back yard. I always assumed that snails were active at night.

Also, this is the only plant that seems to be affected by this problem and all plants are always kept together.

Hmmmmm...

Here's a pic of a different branch that seems to be peeling...

o
Moved my plumeria to the greenhouse!

Taking advantage of the fact I work in a greenhouse... I hauled my plumeria to work today... I figured a two month head start could only be a good thing for it. 😃

o

Jason,

Have you seen any grasshoppers?

I had a few on mine this summer and they like to chew...

Laura

o