Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
perylene

Kimo cutting question

Perylene
10 years ago

Hello everyone! I'm somewhat new to growing plumerias and I've been attempting to root some cuttings of Lei Rainbow, Kimo, and a mystery cutting since last October. The Lei Rainbow and mystery cutting are doing great now with lots of roots and 11 and 6 big leaves on them respectively, but the Kimo cutting is odd. It was the first to show signs of growing this winter, but it slowed down compared to the other two, and now it's barely changed from the last photo (posted below).

When I was potting the other two cuttings yesterday, I checked the Kimo one out of curiosity and I discovered that it still doesn't have any roots. I've had all the cuttings in clear plastic cups, so I knew I hadn't seen any signs of rooting, but it was still unexpected. Is Kimo one of those varieties that takes a while to root? Do plumerias often show new growth on the top long before growing roots as well?

Comments (8)

• elucas101
    10 years ago

Hi Perylene! What did the bottom of the cutting look like when you checked for roots? And was the bottom still firm? Is it warm enough? If it's not rotting or shriveling too badly then it will probably still root.

I would mist the top in the morning and evenings and during the day put it in the sunniest window you have - now that it has some leaves starting they may be able to help the plant get energy, along with getting a little water from the misting.

I don't think that Kimo is known for being a tough rooter, but that being said each cutting can kind of do it's own thing. They can show signs of growth on top and still have no roots.

You also rooted during the hardest time of year to root - Kimo may just still be sleepy :) So congrats on rooting your others!!! I'm sure others will have some great advice for you. Good luck!

• Perylene
    Original Author
    10 years ago