Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tinamib

New to group - transplanting questions

tinamib
12 years ago

Hi all!

I have several plumerias and may buy another today from a local Austin vendor. I do have a question about my youngest plumeria. It is a two year old a friend brought me from Hawaii. It was pulled out of the sunroom two weeks ago and is the first of my three putting on leaves. The leaves range from 2 - 8 inches.

I need to transplant it due to a crack in the pot. It was originally planted in Miricle Grow Moisture potting soil. This is my first year to research making my own mixes.

My questions are

1. Is this a good time to transplant?

2. Do I remove all the prior soil from the rootball?

3. When do I start fertilizing after the transplant?

I was going to transplant in Al's Gritty Mix using a 1.5 turface, 1 gran-I-grit, 1 fir bark. Any suggestions on the soil mix?

Thanks in advance for all responses. I have really enjoyed some of the posts and pictures I have already read and seen!

Tina

Comments (6)

• PRO
    the_first_kms2
    12 years ago

Tina,
    here are fellow Texan recommendations to your questions.
    1. Yes now is the time.
    2. My assumption would be if you are actually going to use gritty mix you need to remove as much current soil as possible since gritty mix isn't soil and the mechanics of gritty mix will not work with soil still present.
    3. a half dose of fertilizer can be done right now based on your description of its new growth leaves. and then the next application can be full dose.

• jandey1
    12 years ago

Tina, how nice to have yet another Austinite here! Who have you found in town who sells plumies?

I wouldn't recommend the Moisture Control soil since plumeria do like to dry out between waterings.

1. Yes, this is the perfect time to transplant as they are breaking dormancy.