Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trigger_m

How Tall Will they get?

trigger_m
18 years ago

Hello.I Am Brand new To Plumeria.Just Got 4 Cuttings.Letting them Root now.After They root,I'm Gonna Plant them In A Well Composted,Full Sun Location.How Tall Should I Expect Them to get By fall,Before I Dig them up?Thanks,Mark

Comments (10)

• mikeod
    18 years ago

Mark,
    It is really hard to say. Some of my new cuttings grew 12-14" while others grew much less than that. It depends on the cultivar.

Make sure the soil you plant them in drains well. If it retains too much water, you could get root rot.

Mike

• frangipaniaz
    18 years ago

It would be easier if you planted them in pots and then sunk the pots in the ground... and like Mike said, size varies... what colors and varieties did you get??
    Brittany

• tdogdad
    18 years ago

Mike again is right on. In warm, humid weather the plumeria might grow from 14-18 inches per year, but most people can count on 12-14. As plants get older, the rate often slows down but is converted into width. I find my reds and pinks are lanky and grow taller (Cerise for example) but some are slow. I have three hedges in the ground that were all planted at the same time and the plants very from 4 to 7 feet in four and one half years. I find that putting large stakes next to my plants and using plastic 3/4" plant tie I pull my limbs upward to shape the plant. After several years the lower ties are cut and the shape is held. I trim any arms going outward or downward. After about 7 foot I will let them move outward. Should look good in 3 years.

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    18 years ago

tdogdad,

The way you tie up the limbs is very interesting. Would you have any pictures you could post? I would love to see it!

Carol

• tdogdad
    18 years ago